Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and TV is passive and does not require a person to use their imaginations.

Some people believe that reading books is one way of maintaining an agile mind, something that movies and TV set can't do so as they are passive. However, in my opinion, I agree that reading books helps in keeping the mind active, but disagree that watching films and television does not require imagination. To begin with, when we read a book we have to create images in our mind. Moreover, reading requires some preparation as well. Readers have to firstly choose the book, buy it and then spend an hour and hours to read it. Imagination is the key aspect of the reading because the writer only describes the situation and characters in words and reader has to imagine every scene in the mind. For example, a recent survey by Texas University found that 70% of the people who read the same book are likely to describe the characters differently. This shows that imagination plays a vital role while reading a book. On the other hand, watching films and television is also an important method of learning. Nowadays, stories from the books are later on being made into movies to nourish the minds of the people and also helps in broadening the horizons of imagination. For instance, the story of Harry Potter was picturised afterwards and it is thought that as you watch movies and television programs you tend to imagine and believe in your capabilities. Additionally, films bring more colours to the minds. To exemplify, a lot of educational institutes offer smart classes to their students to make their learning more interactive. In conclusion, although reading books keep the mind active, films and television are also crucial for widening the imagination. Thus, both plays a pivotal role in enhancing the knowledge and developing critical thinking.