Question: Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara dessert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays tourism has extended to interesting but comparatively difficult destinations. People love to explore new and adventurous places such as deserts, Antarctic, high mountains, etc. In this essay, we discuss the advantages and disadvantages for tourists to visit such places. Let us first discuss the benefits. Today, tourism is not limited to only known exotic places with favourable climatic conditions. People are more keen to explore various and difficult parts of the world. As a result, it helps us to understand the different aspects of nature along with the way the local inhabitants cope up with these conditions. For instance, during travelling through a dessert, if you are lost, the best way to find the correct way is through the position of the sun and the direction in which your shadow falls. Consequently, this increases our knowledge about different places. Hence, people are more interested in adventures instead of leisure. Let us now talk about the disadvantages. At places such as deserts or Antarctic, it is difficult to get immediate medical help in case of an emergency. We have to sustain the pain until we are able to travel to some hospital or find a doctor. In deserts, people might suffer from dehydration because of hot and dry weather. If we are travelling to a high mountainous region, we can suffer from breathlessness because of low oxygen levels. In Antarctic, we can suffer from cold feet when walking in snow. Although the adventure is fun, often we are so worn out after such tours, that we have little energy to go back to the normal routine. Sometimes, due to the extreme climatic conditions, it is possible that we fell sick during the tour itself. Hence, screwing most of the trip. As such, it is important to have such tours to difficult and adventurous places which will help us boost our confidence and feel alive.