Question: Some young children spend an enormous amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weigh the pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. Nevertheless, some may adamantly believe that encouraging kids to allocate most of their time to play games; others will think that such actions will have negative impacts as well. This essay will elaborate on both views. To start with, the majority of individuals would agree with the notion that playing games can be beneficial, especially in their childhood. First and foremost, to stay physically and mentally fit, children are usually advised to do a variety of physical activities regularly. According to a recent study published in the New England Journal of medicine in 2018, children who spend more than ten hours weekly exercising either indoor or outdoor tend to grow faster and become less vulnerable to acquiring diseases. This is because the youngsters playing games like running and jumping will have a stronger immune system, and will gain few centimeters more than their peers who spend less time practicing. In addition to staying healthy and in good shape, playing sports early can shape one`s future. In other words, most of the famous athletes nowadays started practicing sports at the age of six which allow them to become professionals. For instance, Rafael Nadal, the legendary tennis champion, began his journey in the sports world earlier as six years old, he played different games until he realized that tennis is his passion. If he didn`t start earlier, he wouldn`t have become the hero we know today. On the other hand, exercising too much can sometimes be detrimental. To begin with, by spending most of their time playing, children will not have a sufficient period for studying. Consequently, children who study less tend to get lower grades in school, which will affect their performance and their overall grading as well. Moreover, injuries incidences are likely to be higher among over-active kids. Take my brother as an example; he suffered from multiple fractures during his boyhood while doing Karate. As a result, his absence during elementary school increased significantly and could not compensate what he missed and ended up with deficient grades. Long story short, it is advisable to always balance between practicing and relaxing in order to avoid any harms. In conclusion, however playing sports more extended periods improves the quality of life and the career pathway of youngsters, failure to manage between practicing and resting could lead to severe hazards such as bad performance in school and may accidentally increase the risk of injuries.