In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can begrown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today hasto come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of thisdevelopment outweigh disadvantages?

Due to globalization, a variety of kinds of food are now available, people have more choice, and tend to opt for new food rather than food grown from local area. In my opinion, this tendency brings more drawbacks than advantages. Undoubtedly, now people have more options for their meals. Apart from the local food, which used to be the only choice, people in the present can have a decent meal from different countries such as China, Japan or even European countries. Also, with a wide range of ingredients imported, people are freely able to cook on their own. The formula is available from the Internet while all the ingredients can be easily found in only a single trip to a supermarket. On the other hand, the drawbacks brought by the excessive use of global food can not be ignored. First, it will increase the possibility of going bankrupt of local businesses. Concretely, a large amount of local food would be wasted, thus less workers would be needed. All are due to the significant decline of the local food consumption. Second, global food consumption boost the increasingly use in the number of flight and other heavy transportation systems such as trucks and ships. Those kinds of transport excessively expense a large amount of petrol, which is the main reason responsible for the environmental degradation including air pollution and climate change. Another contribution to this downside is the rising of wasted material due to the large amount of wrappers and packaging products. In summary, though globalization enables residents a wide range of food. The disadvantages with regard to the local economy and environmental degradation completely outweigh its benefits.