Question: Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Wearing a uniform in the workplace is mandatory for the employees of a few organizations. This trend of uniform has both merits and demerits; however, I believe that this is an overall positive development. The obligation to wear a uniform every day can reduce the productivity of an employee. This means some workers do not want to wear the uniform that their companies require them to wear as the uniform might not suit their body shape. Therefore they might feel uneasy at work which in turn can hamper their performance at work. Additionally, seeing everyone in the same color or dress every day can make a company’s working atmosphere dull and boring. People may not feel energetic in such a monotonous space which can certainly affect the overall efficiency of an establishment. However, these drawbacks associated with the wearing of uniforms can be reduced to a great extent by allowing the employees to choose the uniform they want to wear. On the other hand, one of the many advantages of wearing a uniform is that it can save the money and time of employees. This is because they do not need to waste their time while choosing a different dress for their workplaces every day and they can save a huge amount of money by not purchasing too many items of clothing. Moreover, a uniform can promote the brand name and it can make the company widely known among the public. Increased brand recognition will certainly boost sales and revenue. In conclusion, although wearing the same uniform can be boring for employees, I believe that the time and cost savings associated with the uniform and the brand recognition it brings outweigh the drawbacks.