Global environmental issues are the responsibility of richer nations not poorer ones

There is no debate that humans are rapidly destroying the planet that we rely on to survive. The question now is who is responsible for addressing this enormous problem. While some believe it is the responsibility of nation who have gained their prosperity through exploiting the environment, it seems that all countries must play a role because there is only one Earth and all countries are connected. The wealthiest countries now are generally the ones who were the first to industrialize. This process of industrialization produced huge amounts of pollution as well as deforestation and the extinction of numerous plant and animal species. At the same time, it allowed these countries to become extremely rich and the people living in them had a higher quality of life than people in poorer countries. Consequently, these countries should be the first to provide funding for environmental protection as they have the ability and their wealth comes from destroying what we all depend on. However, the environment is a worldwide problem and rich nations cannot solve it alone. The biggest threat to the environment is people, and the majority of the world’s population live in developing countries that are now some of the world’s largest polluters. In other words, even if the most developed countries take action, it will be futile if most of the world is still pumping harmful emissions into the atmosphere and leveling rain forests. Developing countries often argue that rich countries became rich through abusing the environment and now they are just doing the same thing. However, this is not an excuse when we know the risk humanity faces if the Earth can no longer support us. At the same time, richer nations are the ones that have the most power, so they must lead the way in preserving the environment for everyone.