Question: It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

I oppose the idea of building a new movie theater in my neighborhood for the following reasons. First of all, building a new movie theater is going to make the neighborhood a very crowded, and unsafe place to live. When my husband and I bought our house, one the most important criteria for us was buying a house in a very quiet place because of several reasons. First off, I have sleeping problems and any single noise can disturb my sleep, and decrease quality of my life. Furthermore, there are so many kids in my neighborhood. Adding a movie theater to the neighborhood, is going to make it an unsafe place. Since so many movie theaters serve alcohol these days. So, I think the chance that someone being under influence of alcohol or possibly drugs, run over kids would increase. In addition, drunk drivers usually drive above speed limits because alcohol affects brain in a way that disturb their ability to judge and understand that they are driving too fast. Second, I believe building a movie theater is going to decrease the monetary value of my house. I believe as soon as they build a movie theater in the area, other businesses are going to develop as well e. g. a mall or restaurants which is going to affect the merely residential property of the neighborhood, and decrease the value of it since my neighbor is marked up for being only residential area. Third, I do not assume it is a good marketing choice to build a new movie theater in my neighborhood because there are couple different movie theaters such as Starplex movie theater which is around 10 miles away from my neighborhood. The great advantage of those movie theaters is they are also very close to the restaurants, recreational facilities, spas, and chain drug stores like Walgreens and CVS. So, I believe it makes it a lot easier trip for people who are trying to plan a perfect night out. In a nutshell, I believe building a new movie theater in my neighborhood is a very bad idea. Building a new movie theater is not only going to make the neighborhood a noisy, unsafe neighborhood but also it is going to decrease the value of the houses in this area. In addition to those reasons, it is not a good marketing idea because there are other movie theaters not far away.