Question: Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The world of today has changed drastically in the past few years. From Hong Kong to Texas, you are privileged to buy the same thing in every corner of the world. Not so long-ago people started calling themselves global citizens and that is so, due to the almost equal global development. Needless to say, this has quite a few positive consequences, but as well as a few negative ones. To start with the positives, one of the most important advantages of the globalization of goods is the equality of the consumers. People are permitted to buy the same thing in their homeland as their fellow travelers abroad, and thus discrimination will be abolished over time. An example, for instance, is the following situation: instead of traveling and spending tons of money to go to Belgium and buy Belgium chocolate, you can do that wherever you are in the nearby supermarket. Equality is crucial for the social and economic development of every country. Another positive feature of the fact that countries are becoming more and more similar is the lack of anxiety for newcomers, or else said the travelers. The opportunity to find similar products around the world can make you feel less homesick and diminish your adaptation period. I have experienced that myself while living in Cairo for four years. Naturally, as an Arabic country, Egypt does not at all have the same products offered as here in Bulgaria, and as a result, this can make you feel anxious, especially in the beginning. I remember very well how I used to come back and, as a small child in a candy shop, buy everything I have missed. Naturally, there are some negative consequences as well. One of the biggest ones is the loss of cultural identity and the charming uniqueness of every country. When visiting Lebanon, for example, you will be looking for the not so infamous shawarma. And yet you can find it in every other country around Europe in not one or two places. Therefore, is it necessary to travel all that distance to see or eat something? Well, of course it is, because it’s not about just eating, it’s an emotional roller coaster of experiences. No matter how similar countries will become there will never be a second France or India. In conclusion, countries are indeed becoming very similar and globalization is in full swing. No doubt, there are some negative effects of that, such as the loss of cultural identity and uniqueness. However, the positives sure outweigh them, as for example the equality between buyers and the reduced homesickness of newcomers. In my opinion, goods should be traded all over the world, as along with the other advantages, this will strengthen the economy and the diplomatic relationships between countries and make the Earth a global home.