Question: Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of this type of shopping outweigh the disadvantages?

The purchase of items online via the internet is fast becoming a norm. People now buy several items ranging from air tickets, books, to clothes and groceries from online stores more often than they would from retail stores. While this shopping style may seem to be a technological advancement, it is not without its pros and cons. In my opinion, shopping this way has more benefits than it does drawbacks. One of the major advantages online shopping has is that buyers are able to source from vendors who have what they desire in stock, rather than being compelled to buy whatever a retail store displays on shelf. In other words, buying online opens them up to more varieties. For example, a woman who desires to buy a “Gucci” wristwatch can easily locate several vendors on the internet by typing “Gucci Wristwatch” in the search bar, rather than having to move from one retail shop to another looking for same. Other benefits include easy price comparison, time saving and convenience, as the shopper pays for and receives the goods within the comfort of his home. On the contrary, many people have had their fingers burnt shopping via the internet. One hurtful occurrence is “Scam”, as the shopper in most times pays to a seller he has never transacted business with. Online scams come up in various forms such as failure to deliver product, fake vendors, and delivery of fake or inferior goods. Scammers rob their victims of their hard earned money. Other disadvantages of online shopping include disappointment with delivery time, network problems that could delay completion of transactions and error in product delivery that may require time to be corrected. In summary, while shopping via the internet may be gaining more popularity and seem to be having some disadvantages such as Scams and disappointments, the advantages supersede the disadvantages because it’s easier and more convenient, offers shoppers more control and variety and allows for easy price comparison. , m