Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of the fear of crime. Some believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime. Others feel that little can be done.

As crime become more prevalent, people are increasingly unwilling to go outside out of concern for their own safety, which brings forth many undesirable impacts on society. While some believe that little can be done to remedy the situation, I am firmly of the view that a more radical approach, including heavier investment in the security force as well as stricter punishment, can be the solution. On the one hand, many people argue that crime is a natural byproduct in an era of economic uncertainties, and any attempt to prevent crime would prove to be fruitless. It is becoming increasingly difficult to maintain financial securities these days, when economic downturns and massive layoffs due to technological advance have become the norm. Burdened with a huge debt from their mortgage while still trying to provide for their family, many jobless individuals have no choice but to turn to a life of crime. As governments themselves are struggling to stay afloat amid global recessions, any hope of reducing crime, which is merely a symptom of economic problems, seems to be very distant. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that there are still solutions to the problem of crime. Firstly, stricter sets of laws are required, and the punishment should be brutal enough to instill fear in potential offenders. For instance, the minimum punishment for any robbery should be ten years, and capital punishment should be applied for every case of murder. Secondly, the security force needs to be better funded and equipped, and the salary of police officers has to be raised. A motivated security force armed with the latest technology in criminal investigation would be a formidable deterrent to would-be perpetrator. In the final analysis, it seems to me that the debilitating impact of crime on our citizens means that the government needs to take the aforementioned measures to effectively combat the rising crime wave.