It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.

Whether the government should increase the availability of tertiary education for the majority of young people has long been a matter of debate. In my opinion, it is feasible to execute such a policy, but its benefits are doubtful. On the one hand, the government could apply several measures to increase enrolment rates among the youth. In the current economic crisis, the high university tuition fee has priced out many poor young people. Therefore, if the government subsidizes state universities in order to slash tuition fees by at least three quarters, there is no doubt that enrolment rate among the youth will rise dramatically. Moreover, the authorities could improve the quality of education in remote and impoverished regions so that students in these areas have a better chance to compete in the university entrance exams. On the other hand, there is not much value in providing university education for a large proportion of young people. One strong argument against such a policy is the high rate of unemployment among graduates. The situation in several countries, for example Vietnam, has been particularly alarming when millions of fresh graduates cannot find a job that match their university training and therefore have to turn to low-paid jobs to earn a living. Another counterargument is that when university education becomes too commonplace, it often creates an imbalance the workforce to the detriment of the whole economy. One can point to the fact that there has been a severe shortage of carpenters, electricians and other skilled manual workers as opposed to a surplus of people trained for office jobs. Consequently, an emphasis on vocational training instead of university education would be much more beneficial. In conclusion, it is not advisable to increase the rate of young university undergraduates even though this policy is entirely possible.