Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Internet shopping has become excessively demanding these days. This essay will discuss how online shopping is advantageous then its drawbacks. The two major advantages of shopping through internet are, it is very convenient and it benefits customers with wide range of offers. Firstly, buying goods online has enabled users to access variety of products that are not attainable in their locality, or buyers cannot reach supermarkets due lack of transportation. Online market has eased such problems by making things available at their doorstep just on a single click. For instance, people living in remote areas of Bangladesh often find it difficult to travel to city for groceries, but due to availability of mobile data it has become very easy for villagers to get items they want. Additionally, the business owners use different tactics to make their company famous by allowing discounts, seasonal offers, etc, which ultimately benefits the customers to enjoy reduction in price. One famous clothing website, ‘Shein’ allows 30% discount for new shoppers and 5% more on referring it to a friend, it also enables the users to enjoy free shipping over spent of AED 150. However, there are slight drawbacks like buyers often get tricked when shopping online, plus there are many hidden charges included. Since online shopping does not involve checking the product by touching it, many sly sellers often trick their consumers by selling the defective products. An example from my personal experience, when I got my new phone it worked for few months and it stopped working. The sellers’ could not fix it which ultimately resulted in losing my precious data and files. Secondly, there are many extra charges that burdens the customers, like cash on delivery cost, tax, shipping charges, etc. But all problems can be solved if government install strict rules and constant surveillance on trade practises. In conclusion, even though there are few disadvantages of internet marketing like cheating the buyers and unseen cost, but it also has some major benefits such as ease of purchase and discounts. Therefore, the advantages weigh more than the disadvantages.