Question 5 - Briefly summarize the problem the speakers are discussing. Then state which of the two solutions from the conversation you would recommend. Explain the reasons for your recommendation.

Some schools value volunteer activities in the community where their students belong to. However, although while some people believe that the benevolent activities should not be mandatory for high school students, I believe that there are a lot of meaningful experiences that students can have from the community and it should be compulsory. To begin with, working in the community where young students live can teach them how to cohabit with people who are from different generations. In fact, high school students often have less time to communicate with people from different age groups. Activities, such as providing food for homeless people would broaden their understandings towards the vulnerable groups in the society. Although I acknowledge that opponents of compulsory charity activities claim that young generations are usually too overloaded academically to help the community, they can learn things that school teachers do not teach them in classes. Secondary, unpaid mandatory services in the community give beneficial experiences to young people that they cannot buy with money. Working for a charity, for example, can develop their communication skills and how to respect the neighbours. Even though some people say that youngsters can learn that skill by working as a part time job, but it is not an ideal situation to learn the volunteer spirit. Finally, my most strongest argue is that minors tend not to commit delinquents while they feel that they are one of the members of the community. The more young people are known in the community, the less likely they commit crimes, which deter children from anti-social activities, such as drug abuse, alcohol use or crimes. To sum up, not only volunteer works can broaden students' knowledge about their society, they can also help young people learn how to interact with people in the community. Therefore, I strongly believe that high school students need to be engaged in unpaid community service.