Question 4: Using the example of the car advertisement, explain what is meant by implicit memory.

As the business world is becoming more and more competitive and cutthroat, business leaders examine various ways to encourage their employees. One of these methods is to commensurate salaries based on the employees’ level of productivity and sales. I believe that carrying out such a method can benefit both employees and employers, despite having some negative aspects and consequences. On the one hand, undeniably money plays an incredibly vital role in our lives; therefore, it can be deduced that monetary rewards and payments can be great motivators. When employees were assured that their diligence and hard work would be handsomely paid, they almost certainly would dedicate their considerable effort and primary attention to accomplishing their tasks and assignments, which means higher productivity. Moreover, the higher performance of the employees results in greater profit yielded by organizations. Consequently, adopting this method would be a win-win game for both sides (employers and employees). On the other hand, those who hold a skeptical view of this motivational technique think this method is not accurate nor fair. For instance, assessing the productivity of some employees such as teachers is utterly difficult - if not impossible. Worse yet, such a salary determination system is bound to be inaccurate or fail when measuring the amount of productivity of all individuals working in a unit. Accordingly, from the efficacy and ethic perspective, using this method is questionable. To conclude, I subscribe to the view that paying salaries according to employees’ performance not only can motivate and stimulate them to become more productive but also can be beneficial for businesses; nonetheless, the downside is that this method neither is precise or just.