Many people think that every individual is responsible for their own healthy lifestyle others believe that governments should take care of it

Nowadays, many people hold the view that career development is more important due to the fierce competition in the modern society. At the same time, there are people who opine that those who live in the fast-paced life should slow down and spend more time with family and friends. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate before arriving at a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that career development contributes to the improvement of people’s living standard and sense of fulfilment. It is possible to say that a person who tends to devote more time on his/her job pursues more financial return. The main reason for this is that financial security has now become extremely vital to a family—a household not only has to bear the daily expenses that are continuously rising, but also pay the exorbitant tuition fee of its children. In addition, a prestigious job brings an individual a sense of fulfilment including fame and higher social status. However, others have the opinion that it is necessary for people to dedicate more time to their friends and family, since the fast pace of life somehow leads to the disintegration of families and relationships. For example, parents who pursue money and career are more likely to neglect their children and the elders in their family; college graduates who seek better job opportunity choose to migrate to metropolises that are far away from their home. To summarize, there is no easy answer to this debate. On balance, however, we have to admit that both career and family play a significant role in our lives. Hence, it is important for us to balance these two aspects in order to make our life happier.