Q5. 18 The student wants to go to Montreal to learn French but he doesn't have money to get visa. The two people talk about the man's problem. Describe the problem and state which of the two solutions you prefer and why.

It is thought that children should always adhere strictly to the opinions and suggestions of their parents. Personally, I partially agree with this view, and will give my reasons below. On the one hand, some parental advice would help develop young children’s positive character traits, allowing them to grow up as good members of society. Children are not born knowing what is acceptable and unacceptable behaviour. Therefore, it may not be impossible for children to misbehave without their parents’ constructive suggestions. For example, most children are often taught during childhood to share their favourite toys with their friends, to always tell the truth, to treat others with respect, to help those who are less advantaged or needy people, and so on. This in turn may make them caring, thoughtful, responsible and well-mannered human beings when they reach adulthood. For the reason, parents ’guidance could positively influence children’s behavior and shape them as they mature. Nevertheless, I believe that older children should not look to their parents for consultation before making any crucial decision related to their own lives. This is because many parents often ignore their children’s wants, likes, and dreams of the future while they are giving their thoughts. Thus, they may cause their children to make the wrong choice and face the consequences afterwards. To illustrate, when it comes to professional choices, many parents often suggest their children follow in their footsteps. If the children heed the advice, they may be left with a job that could leave them feeling bored, frustrated, or worn out since they may not be excellent or passionate about the field. In my view, it may be not necessary for children to consult their parents about some significant matters so that they could avoid making mistakes and gain the greatest amount of satisfaction and fulfilment. In conclusion, while listening to parents can be seen as beneficial to children’s personality development, I am convinced that for their own sake, children should make their own decisions by themselves.