Q5 The speakers discuss two possible solutions to the woman’s problem. Describe the problem and the two solutions. Then explain what you think the woman should do and why.

People have different views about whether the national authorities should invest in supporting art and cultural works. While some argue it is a waste of money and there are other concerns that should be financed, I would believe that this investment is advantageous for the society. On the one hand, there is little doubt that there is a variety of issues which need funding from government. The first obvious concern is the education system. The reason is that education plays a significant role in the development of a country. To be more specific, the large number of well-informed and educated citizens can make a great contribution to the nation's workforce, which would definitely develop the national economy. Another issue that needs investing is the environment. In many areas, the pollution is relatively serious due to the emissions from a large number of cars which are in used and a huge amount of waste that is discharged into the environment by factories. As a result, government funding should be used to address these problems. On the other hand, in my opinion, investing in art and culture brings numerous benefits for the population and the society. It is undeniable that many types of works of arts could significantly contribute to improving people's mental health. For example, music and movies are able to help individuals relax and refresh their minds after a long day working hard. In addition, various cultural traditions and beliefs which have been passed down from generation to generation should be supported. This is because they can make citizens feel a sense of identity and promote the national pride and patriotism. Therefore, it is necessary for authorities to allocate resources in supporting art and culture. In conclusion, while I agree that the national budget should be used for developing the education and tackling the environmental issues, I firmly believe that the investment for promoting art and culture should not be overlooked because of its merits for people and the community.