It is important for travelers and business people to understand the cultures they come into contact with, however briefly. What are the main advantages of doing so? What do you think is the main disadvantage of not doing so?

These days, many people argue that governments should provide funds to conduct and control scientific research instead of leaving in the hands of private corporations. In my opinion, I completely agree with this point of view. It is undeniable that there are two significant dangers of private conduct of research. Firstly, some private companies could be tempted to manipulate the results in order to maximize their profits. For those corporations, their priority is the profits and the reputation, and thus they do not pay much attention in the accurate results of the research. Secondly, from ethical perspective, allowing these companies to carry out scientific research is likely to cause profound social consequences. For example, the genetic modified crops, without unproven effects, might result in the whole ecosystem destruction due to meddling with nature. Although national authorities have responsibilities to allocate resources to social welfare, I would believe that they also need to finance in conducting scientific research. Governments should provide funding for universities so that high-quality research can be carried out. In this way, the knowledge, that is gained from the research, would be shared worldwide throughout the academic community. In addition, government- decision making is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific areas of research, taking in account the needs of society, both present and future. One example is the development of renewable energy to meet growing demands. In conclusion, for all the reasons as mentioned above, I would maintain that conducting scientific research should be governments’ responsibility rather than private companies.