TPO 02 - Question 5The speakers discuss two possible solutions to the woman’s problem. Describe the problem and the two solutions. Then explain what you think the woman should do and why.

In the twenty-first century, the issue of criminal activities has gained significant attention in many countries. Generally speaking, while people might behave illegally because of their nurture, I believe that people break the laws due to the environment. To begin with, there are some reasons why some people believe that people break legal regulations based on their personality traits. Firstly, aggressive and impatient people would probably behave against the laws easily. This is due to the fact that such groups would usually try to use violence to solve problems, and hence they might become outlaws. Secondly, people who are greedy would perhaps challenge legal legislations. In order words, people who desire to become exceptional affluent would possibly rob the bank or steal credit cards in order to make quick money. Indeed, based on these personality traits, criminals do not obey the law. However, I feel that the environment would be the main reason to push people to commit illegal actions. For one thing, poor living conditions would lead to people acting against legal regulations. Petty criminals, for example, pickpocket strangers when it comes to meeting their basic needs. For another, wealth inequality would result in an ever-growing crime rate as well. That is, people would perform anti-social behaviors out of jealousy as long as they learn about the fantastic and untouchable upper-class lifestyles. As a result, the environment seems the major issue of an increasing crime rate. To sum up, although some reasons indicate that the personality traits would cause people to commit the crime, I consider that people would behave against the legal regulations because of the environment.