Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses. Nevertheless, they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities, The latter being regarded as a taboo subject sometimes.

It has been observed that mentally challenged people are less likely to be accepted by the public and physical disabilities are treated with more empathy than mental illnesses. I strongly disagree with the statement and believe that society is getting more tolerating to mental disordered people. To begin with, people have been more open to psychological illnesses because they have become more aware of the importance of mental health in their lives. When people are mentally ill, they are not able to work productively, to form positive relationships and manage life’s challenges. For instance, it is probably difficult for a person with speech anxiety to present his or her project in a work meeting as well as communicate effectively in public. As a result, people have paid more attention to their mental health by doing physical activities, adopting healthy diets and practicing meditation. Another reason is that some people with mental disorders are geniuses with hidden talents. Children with autism or hyperactive might be considered mentally disordered at the first place because they come across with uncommon behaviours. However, many of them have shown their interests or talents in music, technology, drawing or circus performance. For example, a successful Vietnamese acrobat was diagnosed with autism at the age of three. The more he grew up, the more he showed his interest in circus performance. With the support of his parents, he kept practicing and now works as a professional performer. Being aware of these cases, not only families, but also the society have sought methods and treatments to cure and open their arms to people with psychological disorders. To conclude, awareness of the public to mental health and special gifts of mentally challenged people has been enhanced. Thus, they have become more empathised towards those people and supported them in many different ways.