Professionals like doctors, teachers and lawyers contribute equally to society with non-professionals including entertainers and sportspeople. Thus, they should receive equal pay. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Everyone has the freedom to choose whichever career they wanted to pursue, be it a professional or a non-professional job. While minimum salary rates are allocated according to one’s profession, some argued that both prospects should receive equal payment. I strongly disagree that professionals and non-professionals should be paid equally because each field require different preparation effort and work demand. Typically, professional careers demanded specific skillsets that can only be acquired through tedious amount of preparation and stringent qualification. Burning the midnight oil and gruelling series of examinations are the common prerequisites to qualify, even as mere junior professionals. On the contrary, the non-professionals are not bound by strict schedules in order to achieve a similar level of success. In fact, most of the artists and sportsmen simply require a stroke of luck that springboards them to any hall of fame. To illustrate, an actor’s accidental role in a popular movie genre or a footballer’s last minute scoring kick is all that it takes to change their career lives. In addition, professionals require a different level of work responsibility and liability. Most of them have their own established governing body to ensure the quality of work and services are in line with industry expectations. This also mean the professionals are be held liable for every decision they made. Doctors, for instance, can be legally tried even for slight misconduct or negligence of work. In this case, the non-professionals have more freedom to express or conduct their work as long as no public hazard is concerned. To conclude, professionals and non-professionals should be rewarded differently for their work. Depending on the nature