Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree?

The government in many countries use prison as a common way to punish criminals. While I agree with this way, I believe that education is also a positive effect on those who commit a crime. On the one hand, there are several reasons why jail is considered as a solution to reduce the crime rate. The first reason is that prisoners must be aware of the punishment for breaking laws. Murders, for instance, will be imprisoned for many years, and this detention is such a deterrent for those who intend to commit a crime. Offenders will realise that they will face the loss of freedom, social isolation and separate them from loved ones. Another reason is that imprisoning is an effective way to keep away the safety of public from offenders. As a result, there is no danger to society and residents, and they can take part in any social activities without fear since criminals are behind bars. On the other hand, as my consideration, education is a complementary factor that distributes to a decrease in the crime rate. Armed with some fundamental knowledge in schools that will help students to avoid acting illegal things or becoming a victim. For example, youngsters must study the important laws in terms of driving and road safety. In addition, for offenders, it is necessary to provide educational programmes in order to teach them with skills and qualifications, to help them to find a job after they are released. In conclusion, I would emphasise that prison plays an integral role in tackling crime. Besides, education is also an essential part to deal with crime.