Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree?

There is a never ending debate on the type of methods authorities should follow in order to minimize the crime in the status quo. Most of the nations put the prisoners behind the bars to resolve this issue, howbeit some still believe that this problem can be curbed by inculcating good ethics and education to the individuals. Personally, I partially accord with both the views and hence impending essay will discuss more on the present argument in detail before arriving to a resolved conclusion. Needless to say, nowadays several countries follow a similar approach of sending a convict to jail. This is because it generates a fear in individuals of losing reputation in society or even their job which can eventually cause disparate difficulties for them and their families, thus people think twice before committing crime or any illicit activity. To exemplify, a survey conducted on social behavior revealed that approximately 87% employers refuse to offer job to a person with a criminal background. On the contrary, it is argued that crime related activities can be diminished by providing knowledge and education to everyone. In other words, schools and universities should include counselling sessions in their curriculum in which they can briefly discuss the outcome and consequence of violation as well as the basic difference between right and wrong. Statistics have shown that studies have helped most of the criminals to move back on the track and choose a good career vocation for themselves, for instance. To conclude, there is no denying the fact that both the methods help in decreasing the crime, as jail punishment creates fear of status and tutoring is more likely to set the mindset of the folks. Hence, I firmly state that our ultimate aim is to remove the crime which can be achieved by both of the ways.