Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

In recent decades, the crime rate has been increasing over the world, causing some public controversy. Although some argue that prison is the best way in dealing with offenders, I believe that providing better education for people is more effective overall. There are a number of reasons why prison sentences are not efficient when it comes to dealing with criminal acts. First, In order to provide food and shelters for criminals, resources, such as money and land, are of importance. If the authority use these resources to create more jobs for citizens, there will be fewer crime cases as the majority of criminals have to break the law just to make a living. Second, it is clear that not all illegal activities can cause damage to other people. For example, an individual who steels a breed in a supermarket cannot harm anyone, therefore he should be fined instead of being imprisoned. Education for people would be the workable solution to tackle crime. In fact, plenty of evidence has indicated that almost offenders are lack of schooling when they were young. For instance, by providing courses about the laws for everyone, regardless of their social status, the public awareness on this issue would be raised, helping them avoid becoming criminals. In addition, offering training courses allows prisoners to find a job more easily when they are released. By having a profession, ex-criminals would not cross the line again, which reduces the crime rate. In conclusion, equipping knowledge for citizens is a more practical measure to control illegalities and prevent it from happening. Governments should take steps to improve their educational system in order to solve the problem of crime in the long run.