Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

It is true that in order to be successful in today’s world, practical skills are equally important as theory. While some people believe that from primary education to higher education level, more time is spent on teaching theory rather than focusing on teaching practical knowledge. I strongly agree with the said statement. In this essay, we will cover two main reasons why is this so. Many of our schools and universities still follow the old way of teaching and there is no upgradation of the curriculum. Firstly, teachers are accustomed to traditional teaching methods. For instance, giving lectures and presentations to pupils without much interaction. Secondly, the curriculum is not updated to the current requirement of employment. There is imbalanced schedule, for example, we had only one practical class per week. If only education department strives to improve the curriculum and make a proper schedule, then only multiple skills can be instilled in students. Due to the low budget to education by the government, many institutes lack resources to carry out practical classes. For instance, in many government schools of Pakistan, there is no labs or labs are without all the required equipment. Even if laboratories are present, some schools lack trained professionals to handle the lab apparatus. Furthermore, some teachers are not fully trained to handle such a complicated apparatus. In conclusion, low funding and lack of upgradation in curriculum are the main reasons why some schools are lacking behind in imparting new skills to the current generation. In my opinion, government should review their education policy to help bring education to the requirements of today’s developing world.