Present a written argument to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic: The 21st century has begun. What changes do you think this new century will bring? Use examples and details in your answer.

Since the beginning of the century, many things have changed for society. At the current speed of changes, for example in technology, many more changes are about to shape the way we live the remaining 80 years of this century. In this essay, possible changes will be described with examples. Firstly, this new century has been marked by fast changes in technology, mainly by the internet. Nowadays, we have smartphones with touch screens, flexible laptops and speakers that follow our instructions. I believe, that within this century, humans will be able to implant certain functions of their phones into their ears or brains directly, making the physical use of a phone unnecessary for some functions. For example, implants that sit in the ear could take over the functionof phone calls. Such implants may also be able to send text messages that we dictate, without having to type those in by hand. Secondly, concerned scientists are currently describing a dark future for humanity when it comes to climate change. Already, many countries, especially in Europe, are expieriencing hot summers with record-breaking temperatures, while others suffer from devastating storms, for example North America. I predict that hot summers will become even hotter and longer, bringing droughts to countries. I also think that weather in general will get more wild, with storms becoming more frequent and stronger, bringing more destruction and floods. However, I think that society will get more aware of climate change and will increasingly try to live a more environmentally friendly lifestyle. For example, plastic use will be seen more and more critical and electric cars will become more popular. To conclude, we can already see the beginning of changes that this century will bring, including wild weather and smarter technology. However, no one can predict the future, so it is to see, what will really happen within the next 80 years.