Politicians’ private lives should not be published in newspapers.

Some would argue that the personal lives of elected officials must not be revealed on print media. This essay completely agrees with the statement because privacy is the fundamental right of a citizen and propaganda in newspapers would destroy their political career. Besides, being the political representatives, they are also a citizen of a country and they have the privilege to keep their personal life unrevealed. In other words, residents of the country have some basic rights and keeping their life confidential is of utmost importance, so presenting news and articles revealing their private lives is considered as a breach of law. For example, in the United Kingdom, a politician lodged a complaint in the high court against a news agency for publishing those pictures, which were taken without their consent while having dinner in a restaurant with the family. What is more important is the propagation of their family and social life could lead to serious consequences. News agencies publish news according to their perspective which might not be true or just one side of the story. As a result, the public tends to hate them and would not like to vote them in the future. For example, a former Federal Minister in India was falsely accused of sexual harassment with his secretary, later it was revealed that it was just propaganda against him but its impact on his career was long-lasting. To conclude, this essay agrees with the statement that let them live their life confidentially, it is their basic right and any invasion by the press in their personal lives has drastic effects on their job. Hence, it is the moral obligation not to print about the private life of a politician in a newspaper.