It is sometimes said that a high salary is the most important factor in choosing a job. Do you agree?

There are many factors that influence our career options as humans. It is believed by many that earning a large salary ranks highest in terms of factors to consider before making that choice. This essay agrees that a high income should be the ultimate reason to choose a job, as this is necessary to cater for a family and also to remain interested and satisfied with the job. Firstly, as a working class adult, it is your duty to provide for the family financially. This is why having a job that pays handsomely is a necessity. For instance, in Nigeria, the country with one of the highest inflation rate in the world, providing a three square meal for a small-sized family is becoming increasingly expensive, which means a high paying job is needed to survive in such a country. Hence, the impotance of a high wage job. Another reason a sizeable salary is considered the most important is because of job satisfaction. In other words, most people are excited and satisfied with their career only when they are paid heftly. For example, The New York Times report on job satisfactory index in 2018, showed that 96% of workers in the high-pay bracket, indeed experience a higher degree of job satisfaction than other workers in the study. Thus, showing the direct correlation between job satisfaction and an excellent wage. In conclusion, this essay agrees with the popular opinion that a high pay is the most crucial factor when deciding a career path. This was proven by showing that job satisfaction and financial stability are the major perks derived from a high income job.