Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned.

It is argued by some that, consumption of plastic shopping bags should be completely barred because they cause severe environmental damage, especially over the land and the ocean. However, this notion cannot be accepted in my opinion, owing to their importance, particularly in the packaging of perishable food. The relevant factors are elaborated in this essay with particular examples. To begin with, in the present context, polythene and plastic are considered as highly important in food preserving. As a result, many importing and exporting businesses use these items for packaging of food, which aids in minimizing infections and protecting nutrients. For instance, as per a study that had been taken place in the USA, perishable meals can be preserved when it is wrapped in polythene or plastic for a certain duration of time with minimal risk of fungus. In spite, it is evident that it is impractical to prohibit the consumption of above items entirely, instead measures could be taken to control the excess usage of them. On the other hand, prudent waste management policies should be in place to prevent contamination of land and sea. In other words, proper mechanisms on reusing and recycling garbage with stringent laws should be introduced, which contributes to protect the environment. To illustrate, many developed countries implement effective litter management techniques coupled with penalties for non-compliance. Thus, it is more viable to implement proper recycling of garbage rather than prohibiting polythene and plastic entirely. To conclude, although there are many contradictory arguments on banning polythene and plastic, in my opinion, a certain level of usage of them can be accepted owing to its importance in preserving perishables. However, at the same time, other effective precautions such as waste management should be introduced to minimize environmental degradation. .