Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned.

In recent decades, plastic pollution has increasing exponentially. Some people believe that plastic bags make a major contribution in increasing land and water pollution and these should be banned. In my opinion, plastics are affecting our environment badly and should be completely banned if we want to protect our planet. To begin with, plastics are the main reason of causing land pollution. This is because the harmful chemicals in plastic composition gets mixed up in the soil and affects its fertility. Also, since plastics are not recyclable, it does not get treated with other garbage, therefore this adds up to the ever increasing pollution of land. For example, in India, in 2017, it was found that plastic is consumed 80% in the form of shopping bags. Hence, plastic shopping bags should be banned and replaced by paper or cloth bags. Moreover, water bodies are getting affected extremely by the extensive use of plastics. In fact, plastic bags and bottles that does not get treated with garbage, floats down into the sea and creates a cluster of untreated plastic waste. This in turn pollutes the water in the sea which is the main drinking source for various animals. In a recent survey, it was found that around 60% of sea waste comprises of plastic polythenes. Therefore, banning plastic shopping bags will reduce the pollution enormously. In conclusion, plastic shopping bags affect the soil and water drastically. In order to deal with this deterioating situation, an action is required. I believe that the government should prohibit the use of bags made out of plastics since they are not recyclable and is a major contributor of land and water pollution.