One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. · What do you think the causes are? · What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, in the world of homogenisation, traffic jam has become increasingly a major existing crux for most demographics of society. Congestion caused by too much traffic on the roads and streets in major cities and towns all around the world. This issue will be discussed in this essay along with some possible solutions that may be implemented to alleviate the problem. More and more people are driving private cars nowadays than ever before. A major cause of this growing tend is cars have become more affordable for the average consumers and they are no longer a luxury item, and some families have even more than one. A further cause of this is that public transport is often inconvenient, overcrowded and unreliable in recent years. For instance, some busy cities such as Dhaka, New York, Beijing and Jakarta face too much traffic congestion during rush hour. Society has, in general, become more mobile and this means more people are prepared to commute to work by car than they were before. The government and public should be pragmatic about the actions that will solve this issue. First and foremost, there should be better infrastructure such as car sharing schemes, cycle lanes to encourage people to use bicycles instead of cars. In addition, ministry of transportation should estimate a budget for more frequent and comfortable buses and trains that would encourage people to use public transport. For example, Amsterdam, the capital of Netherlands, has no traffic problem as most of the people use cycle to work. Therefore, in order to eradicate traffic congestion, the administration as well as the multitude of any country should be aware of having a balance of vehicles. In conclusion, there are a variety of different factors that have led to rising levels of traffic in urban areas. This essay discussed how traffic congestion is often caused by availability of cars and poor public transportation facility. This essay also suggested that the solution to these problems is taking better steps by government and local public with a cooperation.