Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned.

One of the causes of land and sea pollution are shopping bags which made out of plastic. I completely agree that they should be banned as it is not only harmful to animals but also is a major factor contributing to the increase of wastes produced per year. Firstly, plastic is a non-biodegradable component which means it takes around one fifty to two hundred years to decompose. As it is excessively used in day-to-day life for shopping, purchasing of vegetables, etc, a huge amount of waste's dump is generated every day and this leads to piles of dumps every year. This dump is either thrown into dumping yards or oceans where it remains for a long time polluting the environment or it keeps floating in the water bodies and disturbs the marine life. It also occupies a considerably larger land area which could be utilized for better purposes. Thus, plastic bags should be banned to reduce the amount of waste produced. Another point to consider is that these plastic bags are a major threat to animals. Land animals such as cows, buffalos, dogs consume these bags and die when these bags remain undigested in their stomach for a longer time. There has been an increase in the number of animal deaths due to the consumption of plastic from recent years. Not only land animals but it also affect marine life. Animals in the oceans and seas get stuck in these bags or like cows consume them leading to their death. Thus, we should protect the ecological balance by stopping the use of them. In conclusion, I would like to say that we must prohibit the use of plastic to save animals and protect the environment from further damage.