Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned.

In recent times, plastic bags used for shopping have been a major cause of pollution on the earth. Although, some people believe that these items should be proscribed in order to reduce pollution, I disagree with this view. Although, the indiscriminate disposal of plastic bags such as nylon bags has contaminated both the land and the sea, this would have been minimized if nylon bags are recycled. For example, the authorities should set up collection banks for these items in residential homes and offices in order to aid the process of collecting these bags for recycling. This will help prevent inappropriate discard of these items in the environment, it will reduce outsourcing of raw materials for plastics and makes their production easier and faster. Furthermore, biodegradable non-plastics such as paper bags are not readily available in many countries, more so, they are often expensive. This makes it difficult to replace plastic bags. For instance, the cost of a single paper bag is often the cost of three nylon bags in Nigeria, thus this add to the cost incurred during shopping. In addition, paper bags may not be suitable to collect frozen items like ice creams, fishes and beverages, thus, this makes the sole use of nylon bags impracticable when buying certain consumables. As a result, plastic bags are not completely replaceable in some countries. In conclusion, although plastic shopping bags do contaminate our environment due to their indiscriminate disposal, these items should not be banned because they can be easily collected and recycled. More so, cheap alternative bags are not readily available. There should be more public awareness on recycling these pollutants.