Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned.

The use of plastic bags is one of the major causes of environmental pollution. Hence, it is thought that banning plastic shopping bags is a need. I completely agree with this idea and think that the plastic bag ban would reduce the high level pollution of land and sea. Shopping bags which are made of plastic play a primary role in increasing pollution. These plastic materials which are thrown into seas lead to the death of marine creatures. For example, the number of marine mammals has decreased alarmingly in the oceans due to the great level of pollution which result from plastic materials. Furthermore, nearly a hundred of Caretta Caretta is dying per year since they consume plastics for food. Therefore, implementing a ban to bags which is made of plastic for the use of shopping would be beneficial to save marine life. Another justified reason behind such a ban is that plastic material such as shopper bags which contains chemical damage the productivity of agriculture because of affecting negatively the soil quality. Furthermore, this situation is threatening to people’s health because leading to severe health issues such as cancer and blood-related diseases. Instead of using plastic bags, for shoppers, the government should invest and promote the use of paper bags, which are eco-friendly and recyclable. Unless the government bans plastic bags, people will suffer from the lack of healthy agricultural product and have a risk of getting cancer. In conclusion, the shopper bags made of plastic should be banned because they are detrimental to both marine life, and the soil quality, which plays an important role in growing healthy vegetables and fruits. In my opinion, the paper or carton bag usage can be replaced the plastic bags shoppers use.