Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Many people believe that a separate industrial zone should be established outside the cities to shift all the big industries there. I am of the view that, although it may have some minor drawbacks, it would be beneficial to the population in terms of environment protection and reducing the overcrowding on the city roads. One of the main benefits of developing the regional zones for large companies outside the urban living would be its effect on the environment. The presence of an industry inside the city results in disposal of hazardous chemicals into the water bodies and release of toxins and carbon dioxide into the air. This is an extremely dangerous situation leading to deleterious health issues for the urban dwellers. To illustrate, in Karachi, one of the major cities of Pakistan, several industries is working within the urban zones and resulted in a significantly high incidence of occupational diseases and respiratory problems in those living in the surroundings. Similarly, another issue is heavy traffic entering into the cities for the transport of goods to and from the industry. By moving the industry away such problems will be sorted out. On the other hand, one of the minor drawbacks of industries away from the centre is that, it would cost the workers more. In other words, the employees have to spend a significant amount of their earnings on the commuting to and from the workplace. Moreover, it would also have a financial burden on the government. The government has to develop the road or rail infrastructure to this new industrial area, and also has to bring the basic necessities of life there, including water for domestic and industrial purpose, electricity and other commodities. To conclude, I firmly believe that while developing the new industrial zones outside the urban areas would be costly for the workers, industrialists and the government, its advantages are far more significant and long lasting for the local population, and may prove economical in the long run considering the reduction in the cost of health issues and traffic problems which would be mitigated by such measures.