As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of of individual well being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic s the expectations of job satisfaction for all workers?

Individuals are involved in one form of work or another and people give a significant part of their adulthood to it with joy and pleasure being an integral part of the it. This essay shall look at the reasons behind job satisfaction and also examine if these hopes are feasible. The predominant elements responsible for employees pleasure at work place are; high take home and effective working environments. Firstly, when workers are being paid well, it places demands on them to be productive. That is, since their basic needs of life are being met, they owe the organisation their full commitment and loyalty. In addition, an effective working environment is crucial. When the needed tools are not only available but are also up-to-date, then it brings out the best that lies within them. Thus, this would definitely create a desire to strive for the best. The Punch newspaper, for example, reported that the people who work for private companies with high salaries and with current equipments are happier about their occupation than those who lack them. Thus, the reason for their success. On the other hand, the reality that workers would be glad about their employment is largely untrue. This is because not every institution has the capacity to entirely meet the financial needs of its employees. Also, as humans, our desire for more cannot be completely met. Simply because we are insatiable beings. For instance, it is observed that experts who work with multinationals move from one organisation to another in search for greener pastures in order to be happy. Hence, it shows that the joy derived from work is rather elusive. In conclusion, we cannot underestimate the need for people to be satisfied while working and that there are several elements determining them. Consequently, it is nearly impossible to meet these expectations.