Digital communication technology, such as email, instant messaging and social media, has improved communication and connections between people. with this opinion?

With the advent of technological advances, interactions among humans have been made easier. However, would it also make connections and relationships among individuals easier, too? In this essay, I will argue that while digital communication may be convenient and popular, it cannot replace face-to-face communication. To begin with, communicating ways witness some obvious benefits thanks to such technology in terms of delivering speed and convenience. Specifically, thanks to instant messaging, human can receive messages from other side of the Earth in a fraction of second. Additionally, not only can individuals check messaging notifications wherever they are, but they also get unlimited words of texting. For instance, social media sites like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter gain strong prevalences in information spreading, attracting thousands of people due to its applications on keeping in touch with one another. Moreover, technology allows people to make video calls simulating direct talks, let alone texting with icons. However, better communication does not equal better connections when it comes to interacting during talks. Obviously, despite tangible advantages of technology on communication, digital conversations cannot be substitute for face-to-face communication. In fact, the more humans have online conversations, the less they will connect with others. Undeniably, non-verbal communication facilitates eye contact and body language, involving more expressions in communicating. Unfortunately, providing that individuals immerse in virtual talks, they will lose basic human skills of interacting. To conclude, this essay discussed how technological advances have improved communication, not connections. From my perspective, while the ways in which we interact with others have changed greatly thanks to current technology, such advances cannot replace non-verbal contact.