Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Plastic carry bags form a major chunk of garbage in most countries. They pose a great threat to the environment. Therefore, there is a general consensus that there must be a legal ban on these items. I completely agree with this view. To begin with, over the last few decades there has been a dramatic increase in the use of plastic bags. They are used everywhere from grocery shops to shopping malls. Most of the times, these bags are not properly disposed. This has led to the contamination of land and water bodies. Furthermore, these plastic wastes are non-biodegradable; hence they remain in the environment for an indefinite period of time. They also pose a great risk to all the animals and fishes that might feed on them. Overall, plastic is a source of hazard for the ecosystem. Plastic is a versatile material and that is the reason for its popularity. It is cheap and lightweight. It can be used to package a variety of items including liquids. The only way to reduce the use of plastic carry bags is to enforce a strict ban on them. For instance, many cities in India have already prohibited the use of plastic carry bags. This forces people to turn to alternative materials such as bio-degradable or jute bags. This wouldn’t have happened unless stringent laws were passed. Therefore, plastic ban by law is inevitable. In conclusion, plastic wastes are accumulating all around the globe and posing a great threat to the flora and fauna. However, this vexing problem can be controlled by placing a legal ban on plastic bags