Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

Some people think that plastic bags should be prohibited because they are one of the major pollutants of the environment. However replacements for plastic bags also carry significant environmental risks. That’s why I think plastic bags should not be banned. The main environmental side effect related to plastic bags is that pollute both land and water. An insignificant number of people recycle and reuse plastic bags, but most may litter or throw in the trash. If they throw in the trash, they wind up in the ever increasing number of landfill and contribute to soil pollution. The ones simply tossed in the street clog and drains cities and polluting water cause number of marine animals to die. In additionally, They also affect clean water source and damage your health. This is why people feel that plastic bags should be banned. Despite the advantage of banning plastic bags, solution for plastic bags are worse than the original problems. The people who advocate banning plastic bags suggest us paper bags (which are biodegradable) or reusable plastic bags made from cotton or plastic. Both of these replacements are flawed. Paper bags require and lead us cutting down the trees. Independent studies have shown that production of cotton and reusable plastic bags cause more harm to the environment than disposable plastic ones. Coupled with the fact reusable bags are more difficult to recycle, their overall effect on the environment is worse. Conclusion, I don’t think overly simplistic restriction on plastic bags would have the desired positive outcomes. Rather than thoughtlessly banning them, policy makers should implement the police that balance the materials.