Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals feel that playing sport is an important element of school life for children while other believe that it is not mandatory and can be kept as an optional subject. This essay will share both arguments with my opinion. Due to the advancement in technology, many children nowadays are hooked to television sets, laptops and smartphones. This leads to inadequate development and increase obesity in many children. Incorporating sport in school academics is one of the best way to deal with this issue. Schools can offer many different sports in school, for example, swimming, baseball, soccer to encourage students to remain fit or to choose a sport as a career option. This not only helps them to remain fit, but also to maintain healthy lifestyle by doing regular exercise and following proper diet. On the other hand, some people feel that students can be given choice to let them select sport over any other academic subject. This can be advantageous to school goers who have restricted physical ability such as handicap students. They would be more inclined towards choosing academic subject over any physical sport. Furthermore, it also help others who have some medical issues like asthama. However, keeping the sport optional may not raise awareness among children on maintaining healthy lifestyle and only encourage the ones to enrol who have sport background. To conclude, playing sport in school has many benefits for children than keeping it as optional. I strongly believe, sport is very important part of school life which helps children to maintain a healthy lifestyle and in turn healthy society.