People’s lives are now surrounded by advertisement. This affects what people consider important and has a negative impact on people’s lives.

Nowadays, it is manifest that advertisements are dominating daily life. Advertisements can be seen everywhere under very specific formats, for example, display advertisements, social media advertisements, direct mails and personal sales, product placement, or event marketing. Coming along with the rise of advertisements is a debate amongst people over the opinion that advertisements influence people in a negative way, since these advertisements manipulate the perceptions of people on what is truly important in life. I strongly agree with that opinion and the purpose of this writing is to discuss different reasons to support my notion. Firstly, in contemplation of comprehending why advertisements have a negative impact on people, it is crucial to understand the fundamental methods that most advertisements nowadays have been adopting. The ultimate purpose of advertisements is to sell products, and in order to do that, they emphasize on several specific values, for instance, appearance, function or the value of the products themselves, which sounds very meta. Therefore, these values are being promoted regularly to people, and this may lead to distinctive unhealthy associations. Some advertisements wrongly equated success, status or happiness with the state of being wealthy, as well as labelling their products as the accomplishment of people’s pursuit of happiness, resulting in people trying their best just to purchase these products. This in the long run has a relatively high possibility to lead to excessive shopping, since people’s beliefs have been maneuvered by advertisements. Excessive shopping would eventually lead to the state of bankruptcy if it’s totally out of control. Materialism resulting from excessive shopping could be another outcome when people value material possessions higher than spiritual values, hence neglecting all meaningful relationships. Ultimately, people will suffer in loneliness and this could possibly cause depression as well. Secondly, advertisements can, without prevarication, manipulate people’s perceptions about beauty, especially for women. There is a popular generalization in not just Asian countries but also the world as a whole, that a woman’s beauty will be determined by the condition of the skin. The whiter, the smoother, the better. This is precisely what advertisements have been tackled - the women’s view of themselves, society’s judgment on women and the self-esteem of women. This could cause a mental discomfort in the mind of women and as a result lowering their self-esteem. Not to mention, bleaching and whitening products have been advertised to create a better skin, yet as a matter of fact, toxic substances these products contain can lead to several skin diseases as well. In conclusion, although it is indisputable that advertisements on the other hand are beneficial in daily life, I still agree that advertisements conduct more harm than good.