There is a big influence of peer groups on children’s behavior. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Family is the first foundation of the behaviour of the children, as they grow more and start to going schools, they are influenced by the friends they make. Causing effects on the way they are thinking about different issues as well as their behaviour and the decision they make. This issue brings benefits and drawbacks. To begin with, having the group of friends means that children are less likely to be lonely bring the sense of happiness and satisfaction. So having a group of friends helps the children to improve their social skills and communication. Through participating in peer groups, children learn and practice teamwork, leadership and empathy, helping them to prepare for upcoming challenges in society. Peer groups also could have positive effects on academic results of children. By studying as group they learn to inquire and share idea, teach each other and how to solve a problem. They are motivated to achieve more than when they study individually. Therefore study in group serves as incentive for learning. On the negative side, bulling and teasing are results of peer group interactions. Children who has low self-esteem and poor social skills are victims that they may suffer physically and emotionally that cause drop in their school grades and depression. These problems could last into adulthood period and interfere with personal and professional lives. They also may pressurize by peers to do something wrong, for example, shoplifting, taking drugs or alcohol or taking risks during driving. In my opinion, strong family relationships could buffer these negative effects. Parents must talk to children about peer pressure and promote their self-esteem and social skills and also they must monitor the relationship of the children with their friends. In conclusion, peer group could bring positive and negative points. If parents teach children how handle ne negative effect, it can be largley positive