People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do

The increase in popularity of spoken languages such as Engish, Mandarin, and Spanish has ignited a fear that they may lead to the dying out of minority languages. Some countries are trying to address this fear by taking steps to protect minority languages. Even though a single language for communication with people from various regions is necessary, in my view minority languages should also be given equal importance. In this essay, I am going to support my opinion with relevant examples. Firstly, a community respects its local language more than any other language. This is because it is their own language and it is easier for them to communicate in that language. For example, I would like to speak in my mother tongue Telugu when I am communicating with a local because I grew up with this language and am fluent in it. If the government doesn't give importance to these languages, then it may lead to a severe backlash from the local community. As a consequence, this can affect the stability of the region. Furthermore, elders from these local communities might not be able to learn a new language and this can affect their daily life. Secondly, encouraging a language can help in preserving the local culture, thus increasing the cultural diversity and improving tourism revenue of the country. This happens because a lot of local culture depends on their language and these cultures can attract more tourists. To illustrate, famous tribal dances in India include their own language in the performance, these performances might not be the same if any other language is used in them. If measures are not taken to preserve these languages, then these cultures might die out. This could result in a decrease of tourism revenue. To Conclude, Although having a single language to communicate with people across the world is ideal, but ignoring minority languages can lead to community clashes and a drop in tourism revenue. Considering these problems I believe that governments should take steps to protect minority languages.