People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things like to do- rather than doing things they should do.

In recent years, placing senior citizens in assisted living facilities has risen in popularity over the alternative of taking care of them at home. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks of such an arrangement. To begin with the positive, the crucial advantage of sending the elderly to a retirement home is the financial improvement of the family. This is because all adult family members are being able to contribute to the household’s income by working. In contrast, the carers of older people usually depend on others financially due to their lack of time to work. Besides improving family income, the care home is a safe place for aged people. As they are surrounded by healthcare professionals and are carefully monitored with the presence of care givers, immediate assistances are available for them if there is an emergency condition. Nevertheless, placing the elderly in an assisted living facility does present some problems. For instance, some senior citizens are extremely cheerful and confident, but after living in a retirement home, they become depressed. Considering that staying away from loved ones is a lonely and painful experience, it is no wonder that even the happiest elderly sometimes suffers from emotional burdens. Another significant disadvantage of this arrangement is the price of the assisted living facility. Unlike the family home, the nursing home can sometimes be expensive, which costs a fortune to the family members; thus, they can have a financial problem for other essential matters. In conclusion, although bringing the senior citizens to the care homes are beneficial in terms of financially and improving safety, it is important to consider that they also harm some elderly’s mental health and are arguably not as cheap as staying at home.