People today rarely interact with their neighbors, and this is having a harmful effect on local communities. What are the possible causes of this trend? What can be done to address it

People in urban areas are unlikely to build strong bonds in their locality/neighborhood. several factors are responsible for the loose ties. As individuals, we can take certain measures to address this issue, one of them being creation of common physical space. To commence, city folk are completely engrossed in their work and family life, as a result of which, they are unable to devote time to their neighbors. Additionally, educated people of urban areas prefer to spend time and effort using technology, thereby dissociating themselves from the real people around them. Increasing crime rate is another factor contributing to the gap between the city people and their neighbors. Each person finds it difficult to trust the other with their belongings, house and other important things. In order to resolve this modern-day issue, it is advisable to emphasize community living. This implies building common halls/clubs and other facilities in the neighborhood to promote stronger relations. As educated folk, people in cities should restrict from using technology in the company of neighbors, and instead emphasize real time conversations. Lastly, trust can be built by ensuring background check of people living in the locality. A clean record will pave the way for mutual respect and reliability. To conclude, it can be deduced that hectic schedule and excessive reliance on technology are two major reasons leading to an increasing gap between city neighbors. This problem can be addressed by sensitizing people towards the essence of humanity and restoring their faith in people around them.