Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time.

It is argued that countries with long average working time are more likely to be richer than those which do not work for long hours arduously. From my perspective, I'm not convinced by this statement, because it really depends on what type the country is, and also the average working time may be influenced by the peak value in a country. First of all, the history and degree of development of a country should be taken into consideration. Some developed countries like countries in Northern Europe where people are living a laid-back life and do not work strenuously are richer than developing countries like Korea. Because they have finished the accumulation of wealth in the past, which means they have already past the stage of earning more money and build up the fortune, to the point that they become a civilized welfare society now. Another notable point is, speaking of 'long average working time', a country's average working hours is determined by working hours in different regions within the country. In other words, the average working hours of some poor/rural/less urbanized countries could be more likely to be less than that of the metropolises. One clear example is the US, where people in the rural areas (which accounted for a large portion in terms of population) in the south are living a leisure, rural life while those in metropolises like New York are busy working day to day. The short average working time in the US may, therefore, be lessened by the low values of the rural areas with a large population, whereas as everyone knows the US is an economically successful country. Therefore, it is not objective and fair to attribute economic success to an average working time. In conclusion, it is impartial to ascribe a nation's economic success or prosperity to average working time. There is no direct link between the two, due to many factors like the degree of development and the factors contributing to the AVERAGE value.