In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important.

In this day and age, there are two contradictory viewpoints in the public whether physical fitness or mental strength is the decisive factor that leads to success in sports. While it is believed by some people that those with outstanding physique will eventually win those without, others claim more importance for mental strength in the success. From my personal perspective, both physical and mental power are equally vital and support each other. On the one hand, it stands to an argue that as sports requires not only intensive training but also comparable physical strength in real matches or games if they want to beat their competitors. Indeed, physical resilience which is a crucial factor of physical power play an essential role in maintaining high performance for people doing sports and athletes. Besides the abundance of strength at the beginning of the game or a tournament, the proper distribution of energy during games is also necessary. Therefore, the strength of an athlete must be bountiful for use in the whole progress/duration of the competition to enhance the chance of success. Take Ronaldo, a famous football player as an example, he always gives prominence to physique and as a result he can keep high stamina during a 10-month tournament and rarely has severe injuries. On the other hand, mental power plays an equal part in a sports player’s success because it helps him to overcome fears, pressure, etc. . And this supports them to concentrate and keep productive in a long period. For instance, if Messi kept feeling nervous about his height because of rickets he would never have become one of the most legendary soccer player of all time. In contrast, if an athlete is mentally weak, when confronting nerf-racking competitions with those who are better than him, the athlete might end up quitting. To conclude, physical and mental power have the same importance in contributing to a player’s success. Hence, it can be concluded that without one, the other would be insufficient for an athlete to be successful.