People today rarely interact with their neighbors, and this is having a harmful effect on local communities. What are the possible causes of this trend? What can be done to address it

Unfortunately, the fact that people have less contact with their neighbors is now leading to a negative trend in local communities. There are several reasons for this for this issue, and the role of overworking and desire for making money are the most imperative among them. However, there are some measures that can be implemented to tackle this problem. One of the significant causes of the issue is that most people are likely to work so much which makes them become workaholic. In other words, they are spending increasing amounts of time in their workplaces. As a consequence, we tend to work too much on our own and have less time to socialize. The way forward could be to reduce workers’ hours and organize extra day offs. For example, well known company called Microsoft cut down the working hours and allowed its employees to work on the dependence of their will and this decision has given an opportunity to workers to get together more often and also has dramatically increased workers’ productivity on any project. Another issue, which triggers tendency towards less communication, is desire to be wealthy. Moreover, some people see money as a source of happiness. To be more precise, more and more people are becoming much busier and losing their being on account of their wishes to earn much money. For instance, we can be an observer of individuals who are running out on their friends because of money. To resolve this issue, people should find their own inspiration to put relationship above financial success. People must be shown that the money is not the only key to succeed; there are also more valuable things such as neighborhood, friendship, family and others. In this way, people can achieve a perfect balance between work time and leisure. In conclusion, communication, nowadays, is becoming less common especially between neighbors and friends. The reason for this is that we tend to work much and become materialistic. Notwithstanding this, people should define happiness as something deeper.