People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that one solution to environmental problems would be for governments to hike up the price of petrol. While I consider that this might be an effective measure, I would argue that other measures might have an even greater impact. On the one hand, raising the cost of fuel for cars and other modes is one of the efficient way because of some reasons. Firstly, higher fuel prices can help to limit the number of car journeys. A large number of low and middle income earners are not able to afford the incease in the cost of petrol, therefore they are forced to adapt to other means of transport such as: bicycle, walking, train, bus, etc. Traveling by public transportation instead private cars is the necessary way to cut down on car emission and reduce greenhouse effect. Secondly, the extra money, which collected from increasing fuel prices can be used in order to compensate for the extra expense. Government can raise expenditure on upgrading and expand public facilities and transportation to suffice residents. On the other hand, while this rise in petrol costs might be a useful stopgap measure, national authorities could apply some other solutions to tackle this problem. The first measure is to invest money in developing eco-friendly means of transport. People should be encouraged to use electric cars and motorbikes to prevent air pollution. Moreover, introducing free bus and train passes, as the increased use of public transport would help in the effort to combat global warming. Another measure is to raise people awareness of the need to cut down on emissions from their cars. Environmental campaigns shoud be carried out more, especially on social media to popularize residents efficient ways to protect the environment. In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices would be a useful environmental friendly transport measure, although in the longer term other steps would be more effective.