People think that countries should produce the food their population eats and import less food as much as possible

People have different views about the food consumption in the world’s population. Some people believe that the government should provide adequate food for citizens and reduce food imports as much as possible. I completely agree with this statement. There are some reasons why the government should focus on more domestic food production than foreign food products. I think that eating local food bring a lot of positive impacts on economy and society. Firstly, the countries encourage the development of domestic agriculture. If people just consume local food, farm foods and food business would have a huge number of prospect customers and food demand. This can promote local agricultural production growth and create more job opportunities for local farmers. Therefore, the government will reduce unemployment rate in the agriculture. Another reason is that the nations would prevent food crisis and increase food security in the countries. Some countries exported too much food products, so they were the lack of food supply for their population. This is one of main causes of domestic food shortage. In addition, food import cost often consists of many charges like taxes, shipment and packaging costs. As a result, food import prices are too high for low-income people to buy them. Finally, food imports are not completely safe and healthy. Eating those foods, especially fruits and vegetables often have toxic chemicals. Food business keep food fresh longer and avoid rotten food by chemicals. This make the food unhealthy and influence human health. In conclusion, I believe that there are a lot of advantages when the countries should concentrate on domestic agricultural production and limit the maximum of food imports.